

Council

Wednesday 1 November 2017 4.30 pm (Extraordinary Meeting)

Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend



COUNCIL (Extraordinary Meeting)

Wednesday 1 November 2017, at 4.30 pm Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor Anne Murphy)
THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Magid Magid)

1	Beauchief & Greenhill Ward	10	East Ecclesfield Ward	19	Nether Edge & Sharrow Ward
	Andy Nash Bob Pullin Richard Shaw		Pauline Andrews Andy Bainbridge Steve Wilson		Mohammad Maroof Jim Steinke Alison Teal
2	Beighton Ward Chris Rosling-Josephs Ian Saunders Sophie Wilson	11	Ecclesall Ward Roger Davison Shaffaq Mohammed Paul Scriven	20	Park & Arbourthorne Ward Julie Dore Ben Miskell Jack Scott
3	Birley Ward Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	12	Firth Park Ward Abdul Khayum Alan Law Abtisam Mohamed	21	Richmond Ward Mike Drabble Dianne Hurst Peter Rippon
4	Broomhill & Sharrow Vale Ward Michelle Cook Kieran Harpham Magid Magid	13	Fulwood Ward Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Cliff Woodcraft	22	Shiregreen & Brightside Ward Dawn Dale Peter Price Garry Weatherall
5	Burngreave Ward Jackie Drayton Talib Hussain Mark Jones	14	Gleadless Valley Ward Lewis Dagnall Cate McDonald Chris Peace	23	Southey Ward Mike Chaplin Tony Damms Jayne Dunn
6	City Ward Douglas Johnson Robert Murphy Moya O'Rourke	15	Graves Park Ward Ian Auckland Sue Auckland Steve Ayris	24	Stannington Ward David Baker Penny Baker Vickie Priestley
7	Crookes & Crosspool Ward Craig Gamble Pugh Adam Hanrahan Anne Murphy	16	Hillsborough Ward Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond Josie Paszek	25	Stocksbridge & Upper Don Ward Jack Clarkson Richard Crowther Keith Davis
8	<i>Darnall Ward</i> Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea Zahira Naz	17	Manor Castle Ward Lisa Banes Terry Fox Pat Midgley	26	<i>Walkley Ward</i> Olivia Blake Ben Curran Neale Gibson
9	Dore & Totley Ward Joe Otten Colin Ross Martin Smith	18	Mosborough Ward David Barker Tony Downing Gail Smith	27	West Ecclesfield Ward John Booker Adam Hurst Zoe Sykes
				28	Woodhouse Ward Mick Rooney

Jackie Satur Paul Wood John Mothersole Chief Executive

Contact: Paul Robinson, Democratic Services
Tel: 0114 2734029
paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at www.sheffield.gov.uk. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Council meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

COUNCIL AGENDA 1 NOVEMBER 2017

(EXTRAORDINARY MEETING)

Order of Business

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting.

3. NOTICE OF MOTION REGARDING "THE REMOVAL OF THE FREEDOM OF THE CITY AWARDED TO AUNG SAN SUU KYI" - GIVEN BY COUNCILLOR JULIE DORE, AND TO BE SECONDED BY COUNCILLOR SHAFFAQ MOHAMMED

That this Council:-

- (a) notes that the Freedom of the City is the highest honour that the City of Sheffield can bestow, and is symbolic of the esteem that the city holds that person, or persons, in, and has been given out just 11 times to foreign dignitaries;
- (b) notes that at a special meeting of the Council held on 05 October 2005, it was agreed to confer the Honorary Freedom of the City of Sheffield on "Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, Leader of the National League for Democracy in Burma, in recognition of her personal courage and relentless pursuit of democratic justice in that Country and her commitment to secure democracy and human rights by non-violent means.";
- (c) believes that at that time Aung San Suu Kyi was an outstanding choice to be awarded the Freedom of the City for her tireless work for democracy and human rights and that, in the words of Sheffield's then Lord Mayor, she was an "international symbol of peace";
- (d) notes that by awarding Aung San Suu Kyi, Sheffield was rewarding someone whose ideals match our own and who was believed to be an outstanding advocate of peace and democracy; the award also sought to raise awareness of the situation in Myanmar and to celebrate Burmese culture;
- (e) notes that Aung San Suu Kyi's National League for Democracy Party won a landslide victory in Myanmar elections in 2015 taking

86% of the seats in the Assembly of the Union; and with this it was hoped that the historic persecution of Myanmar's Rohingya Muslims would be ended:

- (f) expresses profound sadness at the plight of Rohingya Muslims in Myanmar and notes that Aung San Suu Kyi was criticised for her silence on the 2012 Rakhine State riots and during the 2015 Rohingya refugee crisis;
- (g) notes that since August 2017, over 500,000 members of Myanmar's Rohingya minority have fled across the border to Bangladesh since militant Rohingya attacks led to a violent and brutal crackdown by the country's military in what the UN have deemed a 'textbook example of ethnic cleansing';
- (h) believes that whilst the military's actions will have been carried out without any direct command from Aung San Suu Kyi, she has failed to condemn the military's actions and has shown wilful ignorance as to this crisis:
- (i) further believes that Aung San Suu Kyi has a duty to the Rohingya and, as a renowned champion of democracy and human rights, she must do all she can to end the violence now against the Rohingya in Myanmar and allow the UN and international aid agencies into Rakhine state; and
- (j) believes that the Rohingya have suffered for too long and it is regrettable that Aung San Suu Kyi has failed to respond to widespread international pleas to address the situation or even condemn the actions of the military, meaning that it is no longer appropriate for Aung San Suu Kyi to hold Freedom of the City and, as a result, the Freedom of the City of Sheffield be removed from Aung San Suu Kyi.

Chief Executive

Dated this 24 day of October 2017

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 1 November 2017 at the Town Hall